Flatten product image backgrounds to pure white

Upload your photos → near-white background pixels connected to the edges become exact RGB 255, 255, 255, transparency is composited onto white, and each image is saved as JPEG or PNG with nothing cropped or scaled.

🔒 Runs in your browser. Your images are never uploaded.

Drop images here, or click to choose

Up to 20 images at a time, 5 MB each

You can also paste an image with Ctrl / ⌘ + V

Official spec for Amazon, Walmart, TikTok Shop, Shopee Mall and Etsy

ItemOfficial valueTypeSourceVerified
Amazon — MAIN image background Pure white, RGB 255, 255, 255 required sellercentral.amazon.com
Official wording
Have a pure white background (RGB color values: 255, 255, 255) to create a consistent shopping experience for customers across search and product detail pages.

Applies to the MAIN image. The RGB value is stated exactly, with no numeric tolerance. This tool sets every flood-filled pixel to that exact value before the file is encoded; the tolerance setting only decides which near-white pixels are converted, and it is a setting of this tool, not a marketplace figure.

Amazon — 'Non-white background' suppression, trigger 1 Background is not pure white (RGB 255, 255, 255) — Amazon's trigger wording is 'not pure white ... with minimal shadows around the product' required sellercentral.amazon.com
Official wording
There is a background and it is not pure white (RGB 255, 255, 255) with minimal shadows around the product

First of two triggers Amazon lists. The wording allows 'minimal shadows around the product' but gives no numeric tolerance; separately, shadows that run to the edge of the frame or are cast against a backdrop are not allowed. On the pages we checked, the pure-white background is recorded as a main-image requirement. Amazon does not state that alternate images may use a non-white or environmental background — that claim has no official source, so do not read this row as exempting them.

Amazon — 'Non-white background' suppression, trigger 2 No visual frame, line or border on any portion of the image edges required sellercentral.amazon.com
Official wording
There is a visual frame, line, or border on any portion of the edges of the image

Second trigger for the same suppression reason. A residual outline from a cut-out, or a hairline where a backdrop met the frame, counts if it is visible along an edge. The flood fill on this page absorbs such lines only when they are within the tolerance; darker lines are left as they are. On the pages we checked, the pure-white background is recorded as a main-image requirement. Amazon does not state that alternate images may use a non-white or environmental background — that claim has no official source, so do not read this row as exempting them.

Amazon — shadows reaching the image edge Not allowed required sellercentral.amazon.com
Official wording
Shadows that run to the edge of the image frame or that the product or human models cast against a backdrop are not allowed.

This tool does not alter shadows. If a shadow still reaches the frame after flattening, re-crop or reshoot; the white-background checker reports whether a shadow touches an edge. On the pages we checked, the pure-white background is recorded as a main-image requirement. Amazon does not state that alternate images may use a non-white or environmental background — that claim has no official source, so do not read this row as exempting them.

Amazon — clothing MAIN image background Pure white, hex #FFFFFF or RGB 255-255-255 required sellercentral.amazon.com
Official wording
Pure white background (hex #FFFFFF or RGB 255-255-255)

The clothing guidelines give the same value in two notations. Applies to clothing main images.

Amazon — accepted file formats JPEG (.jpg or .jpeg), TIFF (.tif or .tiff), PNG (.png), non-animated GIF (.gif) required sellercentral.amazon.com
Official wording
Supported file formats JPEG (.jpg or .jpeg), TIFF (.tif or .tiff), PNG (.png), non-animated GIF (.gif) JPEG recommended

The format list is a requirement. JPEG is the official recommendation within it and is shown in its own row below. TIFF and GIF are accepted by Amazon but this tool outputs JPEG or PNG only. This line was captured on 2026-09-19 from Amazon's Product image guide and Product image technical requirements pages, which were verified together; our record does not say which of the two carries it. We link the Product image technical requirements page here because the captured line has that page’s requirements-table layout — our inference, not something the record states — and both pages are listed under "Sources".

Amazon — recommended file format JPEG recommended sellercentral.amazon.com
Official wording
Supported file formats JPEG (.jpg or .jpeg), TIFF (.tif or .tiff), PNG (.png), non-animated GIF (.gif) JPEG recommended

The official wording marks JPEG as recommended within the accepted format list; this is a recommendation, not a requirement. This tool offers JPEG and PNG output. This line was captured on 2026-09-19 from Amazon's Product image guide and Product image technical requirements pages, which were verified together; our record does not say which of the two carries it. We link the Product image technical requirements page here because the captured line has that page’s requirements-table layout — our inference, not something the record states — and both pages are listed under "Sources".

Amazon — ICC colour profiles Do not rely on ICC color profiles for accurate color display stated sellercentral.amazon.com
Official wording
Do not rely on ICC color profiles for accurate color display on Amazon.

This page re-encodes each image, which drops any embedded ICC profile along with other metadata. This line was captured on 2026-09-19 from Amazon's Product image guide and Product image technical requirements pages, which were verified together; our record does not say which of the two carries it. We link the Product image technical requirements page here because the captured line has that page’s requirements-table layout — our inference, not something the record states — and both pages are listed under "Sources".

Walmart — background Seamless white, 255/255/255 RGB required marketplacelearn.walmart.com
Official wording
Background: Seamless white (255/255/255 RGB)

Listed in the page's specification block (page last updated 2026-05-11). The same page states: "Noncompliance may result in products being unpublished." The same page also sets main-image content rules (the main image must be seamless white, in focus and professionally lit; no watermark, seller name or logo; no language other than English). We quote only the specification-block cell here, because no verbatim line was captured from the content-rules section on 2026-09-19.

Walmart — file size 5MB or less required marketplacelearn.walmart.com
Official wording
File Size: 5MB or less

This tool does not apply a size cap. Check the output size shown in each result row; if it exceeds this figure, run the file through the compress tool.

Walmart — file format JPEG, JPG, PNG, BMP; GIF is not permitted required marketplacelearn.walmart.com
Official wording
File Format: JPEG, JPG, PNG, BMP (GIF images aren't permitted)

BMP is accepted by Walmart but not offered here; this tool outputs JPEG or PNG.

Walmart — bit depth 8 bits per pixel required marketplacelearn.walmart.com
Official wording
Bit Depth: 8 bits per pixel

"8 bits per pixel" is Walmart's wording; the same table also carries a "Color Format: RGB" cell, and the two cannot both hold under a literal reading. Walmart itself flags no conflict between them — the tension is our reading. 8 bits per channel in RGB is this site's reading of the bit-depth cell, not Walmart's wording — both cells are quoted side by side under "Where the official page contradicts itself" below. Walmart's same specification block also gives "Pixel Dimensions: 2200px x 2200px" (listed as the page's Pixel Dimensions value, not stated as a minimum) and "Aspect Ratio: 1:1 (Square)", and this page changes neither. On our reading the JPEG output from this page qualifies and the PNG output, which is an indexed (palette) PNG, does not. The PNG output has no fixed bits-per-pixel figure to set against this cell: an indexed PNG carries at most 256 palette colours, and the encoder writes fewer bits per pixel when the image needs fewer colours, so we make no bit-depth claim for it — which is a further reason to choose JPEG for Walmart, the only one of the two outputs that also matches the colour-format cell. 16-bit PNG input is converted on output either way.

TikTok Shop US — main image background Pure white background (no RGB value given) required seller-us.tiktok.com
Official wording
The main image must have a pure white background and be an objective and straightforward representation of the product for sale.

The two official TikTok pages differ in force: the Product Listing Policy (dated 2026-09-01) words the pure white background as a requirement ("must"), while our research records the framing on the Product Detail Pages & Listing Quality Guidelines page as weaker — recommended rather than required — though we captured no verbatim line from it. We present the Policy page's wording, which is why this row is marked required, and link both pages under "Sources". We quote no background line from the Listing Quality page because none was captured verbatim on 2026-09-19; only its weaker framing was recorded. The one verbatim line captured from that page concerns image count and is not used here, because it appears only in the page's AI Summary block and not in its formal listing-quality table. Neither page gives an RGB value. This tool outputs 255, 255, 255, the value Amazon and Walmart specify.

TikTok Shop US — borders and graphics, all product images No added logos, text, borders, watermarks or graphics covering the product or in the background required seller-us.tiktok.com
Official wording
All product images must not include any added logos, text, borders, watermarks, or graphics covering the product or in the background.

Applies to all product images, not only the main image.

Shopee Mall (read on the Singapore site) — cover image background (solid single colour) Solid (single-colour) background stated cdngarenanow-a.akamaihd.net
Official wording
Cover image must be against a solid background (white preferably)

Quoted from the Shopee Mall Listing Guidelines PDF, which applies to Shopee Mall listings only, and within them to the cover image. The Seller Education Hub articles we checked are the Shopee Singapore ones (2024-04-15 and 2023-01-11); the Mall Listing Guidelines PDF carries no market or date label. We make no claim about other Shopee markets. The PDF gives one sentence for background — "Cover image must be against a solid background (white preferably)". Reading "solid" as the requirement and "white" as the preference is our split of that sentence; the document does not label either part, so we mark this row stated rather than required. Every row taken from that PDF is labelled (Shopee Mall) and none of its thresholds is enforced on output: this page writes the same exact white for every file whatever marketplace you sell on, and the Shopee rows are shown for reference.

Shopee Mall (read on the Singapore site) — cover image background colour White, stated as a preference — not pure white, no RGB value recommended cdngarenanow-a.akamaihd.net
Official wording
Cover image must be against a solid background (white preferably)

White is a preference in the official wording, not a requirement, and no RGB value is given. Quoted from the Shopee Mall Listing Guidelines PDF, which applies to Shopee Mall listings only. The Seller Education Hub articles we checked are the Shopee Singapore ones (2024-04-15 and 2023-01-11); the Mall Listing Guidelines PDF carries no market or date label. We make no claim about other Shopee markets. Those two articles give no RGB value for white either, and they do not contradict the PDF on background — the sources differ in scope and date. Every row taken from the PDF is labelled (Shopee Mall) and none of its thresholds is enforced on output.

Etsy — transparent PNG Not supported: transparent parts appear black on Etsy stated help.etsy.com
Official wording
Animated .gif files & transparent .png files are not supported. If a file contains transparency, the transparent parts of the image will appear black on Etsy.

This is why a cut-out PNG can show a black background on Etsy. Compositing the transparent areas onto white before saving, as this tool does, avoids it.

Etsy — accepted file types .jpg, .gif, .png, .svg, .heic required help.etsy.com
Official wording
All images in your shop should be one of these file types: .jpg, .gif, .png, .svg, or .heic. These are the only image file types Etsy supports.

This tool outputs .jpg or .png. WebP is not on Etsy's list.

Etsy — file size Images larger than 1MB "may not finish uploading" — a stated risk, not a stated limit stated help.etsy.com
Official wording
Images larger than 1MB in file size may not finish uploading, especially on a slower internet connection.

Etsy phrases this as a risk, not as a maximum. This tool does not enforce a cap; use the compress tool if you want to stay under that figure.

What this tool does

  • Composite transparent areas (PNG alpha) onto a white background
  • Flood-fill from all four edges: connected pixels whose R, G and B are each within the tolerance of 255 are set to exactly 255, 255, 255 — the value Amazon's Product image guide and Walmart's Image guidelines both state — before the file is encoded
  • Absorb faint near-white halos and hairlines at the edges when they fall within the tolerance; the tolerance slider is a setting of this tool, not a marketplace figure — no marketplace in the spec table publishes a near-white tolerance. It runs 0–40 and defaults to 12, and at 40 any edge-connected pixel as dark as RGB 215 is rewritten to white
  • Re-encode as 8-bit-per-channel RGB JPEG at a fixed quality of 78 — there is no quality slider on this page and every file is encoded at that same quality — or as an indexed (palette) PNG of at most 256 colours (8 bits per pixel, or fewer when the image needs fewer colours), which is a lossy reduction of the original colours unlike an ordinary PNG save. Nothing is cropped or scaled either way
  • Report the share of pixels that were transparent or semi-transparent and are now composited onto white — the row says "no transparency found" when there were none — and, whenever the tolerance is above 0, the share the edge flood fill rewrote to pure white

What it does not do

  • Flood-fill pixels that are not connected to the image edges — enclosed areas and the product interior are not touched by the fill
  • Alter shadows, outlines or product edges that are darker than the tolerance
  • Cap the size of the output file — this tool sets no output size cap; the 5 MB per-file limit shown above the drop area applies to the images you upload to this page. Of the marketplaces in the spec table above, only two publish an image size figure: Walmart's "File Size: 5MB or less" and Etsy's warning that files over 1MB "may not finish uploading". The Amazon, Shopee and TikTok Shop pages we checked publish no image file-size limit — TikTok Shop's only size figure is the 5MB limit for the listing video. (Shopify does publish one, 20 megabytes, but it has no row in the spec table; see "Numbers you may have seen elsewhere that are not on the official page" below.) Both spec-table figures are in the table above, and the size of every output file is shown in its result row
  • Decide what is background with a trained model — this is a deterministic tolerance flood fill
  • Add, move or reshape anything in your photo
  • Upload your files anywhere
  • We only crop, resize, re-encode and write metadata. We do not alter the content of your photo. Files are processed in your browser and are not uploaded to a server.

Where the official page contradicts itself

Walmart's bit-depth cell and its colour-format cell sit side by side in one table

Cell A: marketplacelearn.walmart.com

Bit Depth: 8 bits per pixel

Cell B: marketplacelearn.walmart.com

Color Format: RGB

How we handle it: Walmart lists both cells as requirements on the same page and does not flag any conflict; the tension below is our reading of two cells on one page, not a disagreement between two official pages. Read literally, 8 bits per pixel describes eight bits in total for each pixel — an indexed or greyscale file — which cannot at the same time be the RGB the adjacent cell requires. We do not resolve this for Walmart: we quote the cell as it stands and read it as 8 bits per channel in RGB, the depth an ordinary JPEG export writes, because that is the only reading under which both cells can be satisfied at once. The PNG output of this page is an indexed (palette) PNG whose bits per pixel depend on how many colours the image needs, so we do not claim it satisfies either reading. Every place this page recommends an output for Walmart says so: 8 bits per channel is our reading, 8 bits per pixel is Walmart's wording.

Numbers you may have seen elsewhere that are not on the official page

FAQ

What exactly counts as a white background on Amazon?

Amazon's Product image guide specifies RGB 255, 255, 255 for the main image, and the Non-white background page defines the suppression trigger as a background that 'is not pure white (RGB 255, 255, 255)'. The official text gives the exact RGB value and no numeric tolerance; the trigger wording is 'not pure white (RGB 255, 255, 255) with minimal shadows around the product', and the only further shadow rule stated is that shadows running to the edge of the frame or cast against a backdrop are not allowed. The tolerance setting on this page only controls which near-white pixels we convert. Every flood-filled pixel is set to 255, 255, 255 before the file is encoded. Check the saved file with the white-background checker; JPEG compression can shift values by a few levels next to the product edge, and the indexed (palette) PNG output can merge very similar colours.

Which pixels does the tool change?

Only pixels that are connected to one of the four image edges and whose red, green and blue values are each within the tolerance of 255. The flood fill stops at anything darker, so it does not touch the product itself, shadows darker than the tolerance, or enclosed areas. Re-encoding does change colour values: JPEG compression shifts them slightly, and the PNG output is quantised to a palette of at most 256 colours, which is a lossy reduction and not the lossless save an ordinary PNG export gives you — choose JPEG if you need the full colour range. Transparent areas are composited onto white first. The tolerance is a setting of this tool, not a marketplace value: no marketplace in the spec table publishes a numeric near-white tolerance, and Amazon and Walmart state the exact value 255, 255, 255. The slider runs 0–40 and defaults to 12; at 40 every edge-connected pixel as dark as RGB 215 is rewritten to pure white, so raise it only when a light grey sweep reaches the frame edge, and check the result with the white-background checker.

What happens to shadows and to the outline left by a cut-out?

A faint near-white halo or hairline that lies within the tolerance and touches the flooded region becomes exact white. Darker outlines and shadows are outside the tolerance and are kept. Amazon's Non-white background page lists 'a visual frame, line, or border on any portion of the edges of the image' and shadows that run to the edge of the image frame as suppression triggers; the trigger wording is 'not pure white (RGB 255, 255, 255) with minimal shadows around the product'. Check the result with the white-background checker before uploading.

Does Walmart use the same white value as Amazon?

In numeric terms, yes. Walmart's Image guidelines list 'Background: Seamless white (255/255/255 RGB)'. The same page requires JPEG, JPG, PNG or BMP (GIF is not permitted), a file size of 5MB or less, and states 'Bit Depth: 8 bits per pixel' alongside a 'Color Format: RGB' cell. 8 bits per channel in RGB is this site's reading of that bit-depth cell, not Walmart's wording — both cells are quoted side by side under 'Where the official page contradicts itself'. This tool keeps your pixel dimensions and outputs either an 8-bit-per-channel RGB JPEG or an indexed (palette) PNG whose bits per pixel depend on how many colours the image needs — at most 256 colours, fewer bits when fewer colours are needed — so we make no bit-depth claim for the PNG output. On our reading the JPEG is the one that matches, and it is also the only one of the two that matches the colour-format cell, so for Walmart choose JPEG. Format and background are only part of Walmart's block: the same table gives "Pixel Dimensions: 2200px x 2200px" and "Aspect Ratio: 1:1 (Square)" — 2200 × 2200 is listed as the page's Pixel Dimensions value, not stated as a minimum — and this page changes neither dimensions nor aspect ratio. Run the result through the Walmart resize tool.

Does Shopee require a pure white background?

No. The Shopee Mall Listing Guidelines say the cover image 'must be against a solid background (white preferably)'. A solid background is the requirement; white is the stated preference, and no RGB value is given. That document carries no date or version number and covers Shopee Mall listings only; the Seller Education Hub articles for Shopee Singapore listings are dated 2024-04-15 and 2023-01-11 and give no RGB value for white either. The two sources do not contradict each other on background — they differ in scope and date.

Does TikTok Shop require a white background?

The TikTok Shop US Product Listing Policy (dated 2026-09-01) says 'The main image must have a pure white background'. That is the only verbatim background line we captured from TikTok on 2026-09-19, and this page follows it. Our research records the framing on a second official page, the Product Detail Pages & Listing Quality Guidelines, as weaker — recommended rather than required — though we captured no verbatim line from it; we present the Policy page's wording and link both pages under 'Sources'. We quote no background line from the Listing Quality page because none was captured verbatim. That captured line gives no RGB value; this tool outputs 255, 255, 255, the value Amazon and Walmart specify.

Why does my transparent PNG show a black background on Etsy?

Etsy's help article states: 'If a file contains transparency, the transparent parts of the image will appear black on Etsy.' This tool composites the transparent areas onto white before flattening, so the saved JPEG or PNG has no alpha channel. Etsy accepts .jpg, .gif, .png, .svg and .heic only, and notes that larger files 'may not finish uploading' — see the spec table for the figure and the official wording.

Does flattening change the pixel dimensions or the product itself?

Nothing is cropped or scaled. If your file carries an EXIF rotation tag, that rotation is applied and then dropped with the rest of the metadata, so a photo saved rotated comes out with its width and height swapped — the pixels are unchanged either way. The image is re-encoded, which drops embedded metadata such as EXIF, XMP and ICC profiles; Amazon states 'Do not rely on ICC color profiles for accurate color display on Amazon' — captured on 2026-09-19 from the Product image guide and Product image technical requirements pages, which were verified together; our record does not say which of the two carries the line (quoted in the spec table). Re-encoding also changes colour values: JPEG compression shifts them slightly, and the PNG output is quantised to a palette of at most 256 colours, which is a lossy reduction and not the lossless save an ordinary PNG export gives you — choose JPEG if you need the full colour range. Re-encoding removes XMP metadata; if your file carried Amazon's contains-synthetic-performer disclosure keyword, add it again with the disclosure-tag tool after flattening. If you also need a specific size, run the result through the resize tool for your marketplace.

Which output formats are available and which marketplaces accept them?

JPEG or PNG. Amazon accepts JPEG, TIFF, PNG and non-animated GIF and recommends JPEG; Walmart accepts JPEG, JPG, PNG and BMP and does not permit GIF; Etsy accepts .jpg, .gif, .png, .svg and .heic. The TikTok Shop and Shopee pages we checked list no accepted formats.

Sources