Export product images for Amazon, Walmart, eBay, Etsy and Shopify

Upload your photos, tick the platform presets you need, and download one ZIP with a folder per platform page and preset, plus a report.csv listing every output and its flags.

🔒 Runs in your browser. Your images are never uploaded.

Drop images here, or click to choose

Up to 20 images at a time, 5 MB each

You can also paste an image with Ctrl / ⌘ + V

Official spec for Amazon, Walmart, eBay, Etsy, Shopify (plus Shopee and TikTok Shop for comparison)

ItemOfficial valueTypeSourceVerified
Amazon — longest side, minimum and maximum Minimum 500 px, maximum 10,000 px on the longest side required sellercentral.amazon.com
Official wording
Image size Minimum 500 pixels and maximum Maximum 10,000 pixels on the longest side Yes Images below 500 pixels on the longest side cannot be uploaded.

Quoted as the official table publishes the row, including its doubled word and the short cell that sits between the size text and the sentence after it. The Amazon presets used here scale down anything above 10,000 px and never enlarge; a source below 500 px on its longest side keeps its pixel size, and because both Amazon presets carry that figure it is flagged in its result row and reads fail in report.csv rather than being passed over in silence. The same table limits pixels only — no file size limit appears anywhere on it, so the Amazon folder is not capped by bytes and the byte count of each output is shown in the results and in report.csv.

Amazon — recommended longest side 1,000+ px on the longest side (enables the zoom function) recommended sellercentral.amazon.com
Official wording
We recommend 1,000+ pixels for the best customer experience. Images with 1,000+ pixels on the longest side enable the zoom function.

A recommendation, not a requirement. One Amazon preset scales the longest side to 1,000 px; the other keeps the original pixel size up to the 10,000 px maximum.

Amazon — enlarging small images Do not artificially enlarge small images stated sellercentral.amazon.com
Official wording
Do not artificially enlarge small images.

Phrased as an instruction on the official page without a stated consequence. No preset on this page enlarges a photo: the Amazon presets, the Etsy preset and every fit preset leave a small photo at its own pixel size, and the square canvases — Walmart, the eBay square preset and the Shopify square preset — centre a smaller photo on the canvas at its own pixel size and pad the rest. The output pixel size is printed on every row and in report.csv, so a source below a canvas is visible there.

Amazon — resolution At least 72 dpi required sellercentral.amazon.com
Official wording
Resolution At least 72 dpi

Files in the Amazon folder carry 72 dpi in the JFIF or pHYs header. This is metadata only; the pixel count is unchanged. Amazon is the only platform on this page whose official page states a density.

Amazon — file formats JPEG (.jpg or .jpeg), TIFF (.tif or .tiff), PNG (.png), non-animated GIF (.gif); JPEG recommended required sellercentral.amazon.com
Official wording
Supported file formats JPEG (.jpg or .jpeg), TIFF (.tif or .tiff), PNG (.png), non-animated GIF (.gif) JPEG recommended

The format list is the requirement; the JPEG preference is a recommendation. The Amazon folder here is written as JPEG, the format the page recommends; PNG is on Amazon’s list and can be chosen on resize-image-for-amazon, and TIFF and GIF are not produced anywhere on this site.

Amazon — main image background Pure white, RGB 255, 255, 255 required sellercentral.amazon.com
Official wording
Have a pure white background (RGB color values: 255, 255, 255) to create a consistent shopping experience for customers across search and product detail pages.

The Amazon presets add no padding, so no background is introduced; the background already in your photo is left as it is. To measure it against this exact value use amazon-white-background-checker.

Amazon — product share of the image (applies to all product images) At least 85% of the image area required sellercentral.amazon.com
Official wording
The product must occupy at least 85% of the image area, making use of as much of the image space as possible without cropping the product or letting shadows run to the edge of the image.

Our research records this 85% as applying to all product images, not only the main image; the Product Too Small page states the 85% figure itself. Not measured by this page. Padding a photo onto a larger canvas (as the Walmart, eBay square and Shopify square presets do) lowers the product’s share of the frame; use product-image-fill-ratio-checker on the source before exporting.

Amazon clothing — aspect ratio Minimum aspect ratio close to 3:4 (width/height), with 85% of the total image area occupied required sellercentral.amazon.com
Official wording
Minimum aspect ratio is close to 3:4 (width/height) and 85% of the total image area occupied

Applies to the clothing category only and is not a separate preset here: the Amazon folder follows the general page, which sets no aspect ratio, so your photo keeps its shape. A 1:1 canvas does not meet this clothing line, so none of the square presets on this page is a way to satisfy it.

Walmart — pixel dimensions 2200 × 2200 px stated marketplacelearn.walmart.com
Official wording
Pixel Dimensions: 2200px x 2200px

The official table gives this as a Pixel Dimensions target value — our research reads it as a target rather than an explicit minimum or maximum, which is why this row is marked stated and not required. The Walmart main preset uses it as its canvas because it is the only pixel figure the table publishes for the full-size product image — of the table’s other two, 1500 × 1500 is scoped to the zoom feature and 100 × 100 to swatches (the row below), not because Walmart labels it mandatory. A larger photo is scaled down to fit the canvas and a smaller one is centred and padded rather than enlarged, because the same official page tells sellers not to scale small images up to fill space. It is not the only Walmart preset — see the swatch row below.

Walmart — swatch image pixel dimensions 100 × 100 px stated marketplacelearn.walmart.com
Official wording
Swatch Pixel Dimensions: 100px x 100px

The same official table carries a second, much smaller size for colour or style swatches, listed the same way as the main size. It is a separate preset, so the Walmart folder holds both a 2200 × 2200 file and a 100 × 100 swatch file for the same photo, each written into its own preset sub-folder inside the Walmart folder so neither replaces the other; every output is listed with the preset behind it in the results and in report.csv. Walmart’s table states nothing else about swatch images, so whether the file size, 8-bit, RGB and background rows are scoped to them is not published: the swatch preset on resize-image-for-walmart carries the same byte cap and the same 8-bit, RGB and white-padding treatment as the main preset, applied as a conservative default of ours rather than as a Walmart statement.

Walmart — aspect ratio 1:1 (square) required marketplacelearn.walmart.com
Official wording
Aspect Ratio: 1:1 (Square)

A non-square photo is scaled to fit and padded to a square canvas; nothing is cropped.

Walmart — file size 5 MB or less required marketplacelearn.walmart.com
Official wording
File Size: 5MB or less

JPEG quality is lowered until the Walmart output is at or under this limit, and a file that cannot get there is flagged rather than shipped silently. The page does not say whether MB means decimal or binary megabytes; the byte cap applied here is the one applied on resize-image-for-walmart, this site’s page of record for these presets. The same official page adds: Noncompliance may result in products being unpublished.

Walmart — bit depth 8 bits per pixel required marketplacelearn.walmart.com
Official wording
Bit Depth: 8 bits per pixel

Walmart’s wording is 8 bits per pixel. A baseline JPEG stores 8 bits per colour channel, and our research reads Walmart’s row as the per-channel depth, which is why 16-bit and palette PNG sources are treated as non-compliant and are re-encoded at 8 bits per channel here. Walmart does not say which reading it means, and no source on this page publishes a per-pixel figure, so none is given here. Walmart is the only platform here whose official page states a bit depth.

Walmart — colour format RGB required marketplacelearn.walmart.com
Official wording
Color Format: RGB

All outputs on this page are RGB; CMYK and greyscale sources are decoded and re-encoded as RGB, and no embedded colour profile is written into the output. Because the profile does not travel with the file, convert a photo tagged Adobe RGB or Display P3 to sRGB in your image editor before you bring it here — see the Etsy colour profile row below.

Walmart — file format JPEG, JPG, PNG or BMP; GIF is not permitted required marketplacelearn.walmart.com
Official wording
File Format: JPEG, JPG, PNG, BMP (GIF images aren't permitted)

The Walmart folder is written as JPEG. PNG and BMP are on Walmart’s list but are not produced here. Amazon differs on BMP: our research records Amazon’s product image requirements and image technical requirements pages — both linked in the sources list below — as naming BMP among the formats Amazon does not accept, and it records that list as a summary rather than as a sentence captured word for word, so no quotation of it appears on this page. That statement rests on those two Amazon pages, not on this Walmart one.

Walmart — background Seamless white, RGB 255/255/255 required marketplacelearn.walmart.com
Official wording
Background: Seamless white (255/255/255 RGB)

Padding added by the Walmart presets uses exactly this value. Background pixels already in your photo are left as they are; see flatten-background-to-white for a near-white background.

Walmart — minimum pixel dimensions for zoom 1500 × 1500 px, labelled Minimum Pixel Dimensions for Zoom stated marketplacelearn.walmart.com
Official wording
Minimum Pixel Dimensions for Zoom: 1500px x 1500px

Labelled Minimum on the official page — the only Walmart figure that carries the word — but our research does not class it among Walmart’s hard requirements, and it is scoped to the zoom feature rather than to acceptance, so this row is marked stated, the same treatment as the 2200 × 2200 and 100 × 100 figures from the same unlabelled table. This page records it rather than enforcing it: no file is refused or changed because of it, and the output pixel size on each row is where you check it.

eBay — minimum picture size (picture policy) At least one photo of 500 px on the longest side required www.ebay.com
Official wording
at least one photo that is 500 pixels on the longest side

This is the wording our research classes as a hard eBay requirement, and it is scoped to the listing — one photo — rather than to every photo. The help page words a minimum differently; that is the row below, and both are shown in the section on where official pages disagree. Neither eBay preset refuses a smaller file, but both carry this 500 px figure, so a source below it on its longest side is flagged in its result row and reads fail in report.csv — a flag from this page against this wording, not a rejection by eBay. The output pixel size is printed on each row and in report.csv as well.

eBay — minimum picture size (help page wording) 500 px wide and 500 px high, worded as should rather than must stated www.ebay.com
Official wording
Images should have a minimum resolution of 500 x 500 pixels but we recommend images that are about 1600 x 1600

Marked stated because the page words this as should and applies it to each image, while the picture policy above words a listing-level minimum on the longest side. The same sentence carries eBay’s recommended size, which is the next row. This per-image wording is not turned into a flag by either preset — the figure they carry is the picture policy’s longest-side one in the row above — and the two are set side by side in the section on where official pages disagree.

eBay — recommended picture size About 1,600 × 1,600 px recommended www.ebay.com
Official wording
Images should have a minimum resolution of 500 x 500 pixels but we recommend images that are about 1600 x 1600

A recommendation, and the page’s own hedge (about) is kept. The eBay fit preset scales the longest side down to it, keeps your shape and pads nothing; the eBay square preset scales down to the same canvas and pads the rest to 1:1 — read the Added borders row below before you use it. Neither preset enlarges: a photo below 1,600 px on its longest side keeps its pixel size, and on the square preset it is centred and the rest is padded. Neither official eBay page names a background colour or a maximum pixel dimension, so no pixel ceiling is applied here and the white padding in the square preset is this site’s default — it keeps the canvas one flat colour and is not an eBay rule.

eBay — aspect ratio 1:1 or 16:9 look best recommended www.ebay.com
Official wording
Generally, photos in a 1:1 or 16:9 aspect ratio look best in listings, search results, and other placements

A recommendation. The eBay square preset produces 1:1; the fit preset keeps whatever shape the photo has, including 16:9. eBay gives no pixel dimensions for 16:9, so no 16:9 canvas is offered.

eBay — file size 12 MB each required www.ebay.com
Official wording
12MB each

The eBay outputs are capped at this figure: JPEG quality is lowered only when a file would otherwise exceed it, and a file that still exceeds it is flagged rather than shipped silently. eBay does not say whether MB means decimal or binary megabytes; the byte cap applied here is the one applied on resize-image-for-ebay, this site’s page of record for these presets.

eBay — file formats JPEG, PNG, GIF, TIFF, BMP, WEBP, HEIC or AVIF required www.ebay.com
Official wording
JPEG, PNG, GIF, TIFF, BMP, WEBP, HEIC, or AVIF

The eBay folder is written as JPEG, which is on eBay’s list. eBay is the only platform on this page whose official page names AVIF among the formats it accepts. HEIC is on eBay’s and Etsy’s lists, and our research records it on Shopify’s uploadable formats too; Shopify’s list is not quoted here because the sentence carrying it was not captured word for word.

eBay — added borders Photos with added borders are not allowed required www.ebay.com
Official wording
Photos with added borders

Listed under Not allowed on eBay’s picture policy page. The eBay square preset on this page pads a photo with white to reach 1:1, and eBay does not say whether flat padding added afterwards counts as an added border — so use the eBay fit preset, which adds no padding, unless you have checked it. This page draws no borders and does not check for them.

Etsy — supported file types .jpg, .gif, .png, .svg or .heic — the only image file types Etsy supports required help.etsy.com
Official wording
All images in your shop should be one of these file types: .jpg, .gif, .png, .svg, or .heic. These are the only image file types Etsy supports.

Every folder on this page is written as JPEG, and .jpg is one of Etsy’s five supported types. WebP is not on Etsy’s list, so no Etsy output here uses it.

Etsy — transparency Transparent PNG is not supported; transparent parts appear black on Etsy stated help.etsy.com
Official wording
Animated .gif files & transparent .png files are not supported. If a file contains transparency, the transparent parts of the image will appear black on Etsy.

Re-encoding on this page composites any transparent area onto the preset's background colour before writing the file, so the Etsy folder never contains an alpha channel. See etsy-transparent-png-black-fix for a single-file version of this step.

Etsy — listing photo size Width and height of at least 2000 px recommended help.etsy.com
Official wording
We recommend your listing photos have a width and height of at least 2000 pixels or more.

A recommendation, and it is about both dimensions reaching 2000 px, not about a square. The Etsy preset keeps your photo's shape and pixel size and never enlarges it; the output size on each row is where you compare against this figure.

Etsy — first listing photo minimum Width and height of at least 635 px on the first listing photo, to avoid showing up lower in searches stated help.etsy.com
Official wording
Your first listing photo should have a width and height of at least 635 pixels to avoid showing up lower in searches.

The stated consequence is search placement, not an upload failure. It is scoped to the first photo and to both dimensions, which is why no preset here turns it into a pass or fail column; the output width and height are printed on each row and in report.csv.

Etsy — file size Larger than 1 MB: “may not finish uploading, especially on a slower internet connection” — not stated as a hard limit stated help.etsy.com
Official wording
Images larger than 1MB in file size may not finish uploading, especially on a slower internet connection.

The official wording is a hedge, and we keep it. No byte cap is set on the Etsy preset, because inventing one would turn this warning into a rule Etsy never wrote; the byte count of each Etsy output is shown in the results and in report.csv so you can see which files sit above the figure.

Etsy — orientation and cropping Avoid square crops; the first photo should be horizontal/landscape or square and sets the shape of the rest recommended help.etsy.com
Official wording
Avoid square crops

The quoted fragment is the only part of this row our research records word for word, and it records it from the page’s best practices section rather than from the block of captured requirement text, which is a further reason it is not presented as a rule. Our research also records the page advising horizontal or landscape uploads, and that the first photo be horizontal/landscape or square and set the shape of the rest; neither was captured word for word, so neither is quoted here. This is also why the Etsy folder is the one place on this page where a square canvas is never forced: the Etsy preset keeps the source’s own aspect ratio.

Etsy — colour profile Convert images to sRGB before uploading recommended help.etsy.com
Official wording
convert your images to sRGB using an image editing software before uploading

Etsy gives this as what to do when colours display oddly, so it is a recommendation rather than a rule. No output from this page carries an embedded colour profile, so a photo tagged Adobe RGB or Display P3 is best converted to sRGB in your image editor before you bring it here. Amazon’s product image requirements and image technical requirements pages — both linked in the sources list below — separately tell sellers not to rely on ICC colour profiles for accurate colour on Amazon.

Shopify — file size (product and collection images) Smaller than 20 MB required help.shopify.com
Official wording
Product and collection images need to have a file size smaller than 20 MB to be added to Shopify.

Shopify does not say whether this figure means decimal or binary megabytes; the byte cap applied here is the one applied on resize-image-for-shopify, this site’s page of record for these presets: MB read as 1,000,000 bytes gives 20,000,000, and because the official wording is "smaller than", not "up to", the cap enforced is one byte below that — 19,999,999 bytes — so a file of exactly 20,000,000 bytes is flagged rather than passed. Both figures are our arithmetic, not Shopify figures. In practice it does not arise: every Shopify output from this page is 2048 × 2048 px or smaller and well under either reading. Shopify’s pages state no background, product-share or watermark rules; the white padding in the Shopify square preset is this site’s default, not a Shopify rule.

Shopify — maximum dimensions (product media page) Up to 5000 × 5000 px, or 25 megapixels stated help.shopify.com
Official wording
Your product and collection images can be any size up to 5000 x 5000 px, or 25 megapixels.

Presented as stated rather than required because a second official Shopify page gives a lower ceiling and the two cannot both be the limit for the same file; both are shown in the section on where official pages disagree. Every Shopify output here is 2048 × 2048 px or smaller, under both.

Shopify — upload limits (theme images page) 20 megapixels or 20 megabytes stated help.shopify.com
Official wording
Images uploaded to Shopify can't exceed either of the following limits: 20 megapixels [or] 20 megabytes.

The page prints the lead-in sentence and then its two limits as a bulleted list; our capture renders the break as [or]. This page is about images uploaded to a theme and gives the stricter pixel ceiling of the two Shopify pages. It is presented as stated for the same reason as the row above — the two official ceilings contradict each other — and we apply the stricter one.

Shopify — recommended square size 2048 × 2048 px recommended help.shopify.com
Official wording
For square product images, a size of 2048 x 2048 px usually displays best.

A recommendation for square images, with the page’s own hedge (usually). The Shopify square preset scales a photo down to fit this canvas and pads the rest so every output is 1:1; a photo smaller than the canvas is centred at its own pixel size and padded, never enlarged. The Shopify fit preset scales to fit inside it, keeps your shape and never enlarges. Shopify publishes no recommended size for images that are not square, so the ceiling the fit preset uses is this site’s own, reused from this square figure rather than taken from any Shopify sentence about non-square images.

Shopee (Singapore Seller Education Hub) — aspect ratio 1:1 is mandatory for all listings; 3:4 is an optional additional set, uploaded only after 1:1 required seller.shopee.sg
Official wording
Currently, it is mandatory to upload product images of 1:1 display ratio for all listings. You must still upload 1:1 images before uploading 3:4 images.

Source: Shopee Seller Education Hub (Singapore), article 17318, dated 2023-01-11. Listed for comparison: there is no Shopee export preset on this page. Neither Seller Education Hub article (2449, dated 2024-04-15; 17318, dated 2023-01-11) nor the undated Shopee Mall Listing Guidelines PDF gives a pixel size, a file size limit or a format list, so a Shopee preset would have to invent a canvas size, a byte cap and a format, and we will not put numbers Shopee never published into a folder labelled Shopee. Rules on other Shopee country sites were not checked.

Shopee Mall — cover image background: solid Solid background stated cdngarenanow-a.akamaihd.net
Official wording
Cover image must be against a solid background (white preferably)

From the Shopee Mall Listing Guidelines PDF, which carries no date. The PDF’s own verb is must, but our research classes the cover-background line among its recommended items and does not list it among Shopee’s hard items, so this row is marked stated. The colour the PDF names is a separate row below, because the PDF words that one differently. All Shopee sources we verified are the Singapore market, and other Shopee country sites were not checked.

Shopee Mall — cover image background colour: white White preferred; no RGB value published recommended cdngarenanow-a.akamaihd.net
Official wording
Cover image must be against a solid background (white preferably)

The PDF writes white preferably, not must be white, and our research classes the colour as a recommendation rather than a requirement: nothing we verified asks Shopee sellers for pure white 255, 255, 255. No RGB value is published. All Shopee sources we verified are the Singapore market, and other Shopee country sites were not checked. That absence is one reason a Shopee preset here would be guesswork rather than a published spec. The same wording is used on product-image-fill-ratio-checker.

Shopee Mall — cover image, product share At least 60% of the image frame required cdngarenanow-a.akamaihd.net
Official wording
The product for sale must cover at least 60% of image frame

The PDF wording is must cover, and our research classes this cover-image figure as a hard item. Not measured by this page, and no Shopee output is produced here. Padding any photo to a fixed ratio lowers the product's share of the frame, so check the source with product-image-fill-ratio-checker, which carries the Shopee Mall targets. From the Shopee Mall Listing Guidelines PDF, which carries no date or version number; all Shopee sources we verified are the Singapore site, and other Shopee country sites were not checked.

Shopee Mall — other images, product and props share Should fill 50% or more of the image frame stated cdngarenanow-a.akamaihd.net
Official wording
The product and props should fill 50% or more of the image frame

The PDF wording is should fill and the PDF does not label this as hard or recommended, so a reading against this target is meets or below the stated 50%, not a compliance pass or fail — the wording product-image-fill-ratio-checker already uses for it. Not measured by this page, and no Shopee output is produced here. From the Shopee Mall Listing Guidelines PDF, which carries no date or version number; all Shopee sources we verified are the Singapore site, and other Shopee country sites were not checked.

TikTok Shop (reference only) — shape and minimum size Square; at least 600 × 600 px required seller-us.tiktok.com
Official wording
All product images must be at least 600 x 600 pixels.

The same official page also states: Sellers may upload up to 9 square images. 1 must be selected as the main product image. Our research records the second official page giving the same figure in a different form, as a resolution greater than 600 × 600; that wording was not captured word for word, so it is not quoted here. TikTok Shop is not an export target on this page: no TikTok preset exists in this toolset yet, and the rows are listed because sellers compare against them. Beyond the figures quoted here, no maximum pixel dimension, image file size or format list appears on either official TikTok Shop page we verified — the Product Listing Policy states a size limit for video only. Product Listing Policy page dated 2026-09-01; applies to TikTok Shop US.

TikTok Shop (reference only) — main image background Pure white (Product Listing Policy: must) required seller-us.tiktok.com
Official wording
The main image must have a pure white background and be an objective and straightforward representation of the product for sale.

Our research records a second official page, the Listing Quality guidelines, wording the white background as recommended rather than required, and reads the Policy page’s must as the one to follow. That second page’s own sentence was not captured word for word, so it is not quoted here and the pair is not set out in the section on where official pages disagree, where every entry shows both pages’ captured wording. We present the Policy page’s wording and link both pages in the sources list.

Amazon — disclosure metadata for photorealistic people made with AI For images that contain photorealistic people made with AI: the keyword contains-synthetic-performer in the image file’s XMP dc:subject field stated sellercentral.amazon.com
Official wording
Use an IPTC-compatible metadata editor to add the keyword contains-synthetic-performer to the dc:subject (XMP) field of your image file.

The obligation is conditional and we captured no verbatim sentence for the condition, so the Type column reads stated and the scope in the value column is our own wording. It matters here because every output from this page is stripped of metadata as part of re-encoding: a keyword already in your file does not survive the export. Write it back afterwards with an IPTC-compatible metadata editor, or with the Amazon disclosure-tag page on this site, which writes the keyword without re-encoding the image.

Amazon — image file name Product identifier + variant code + file extension, e.g. B000123456.MAIN.jpg; spaces, dashes or additional characters prevent upload stated sellercentral.amazon.com
Official wording
Image files must be named: Product identifier + variant code + file extension. Example: B000123456.MAIN.jpg ... spaces, dashes, or additional characters will prevent your image from uploading

This page does not rename your files: your own file name is carried through unchanged into every folder, so rename your sources before exporting if they are going to Amazon. The Amazon file namer page on this site builds these names. The page’s requirements table marks the File naming row Optional while its body words it as must be named, which is why the Type column reads stated; the character rule still blocks the upload of the files you do submit.

What this tool does

  • Run every photo through the export presets you choose — Amazon, Walmart (including the separate 100 × 100 swatch preset), eBay, Etsy and Shopify — and write one ZIP with two folder levels: one folder per platform page, named with that page’s own slug on this site (resize-image-for-walmart), and inside it one sub-folder per preset, named with the preset id (walmart-main, walmart-swatch). Your own file name is carried through unchanged — this page never renames, and Amazon’s page states that spaces, dashes or additional characters in a file name prevent the image from uploading, so rename Amazon-bound sources first — so every output sits at <platform-page-slug>/<preset-id>/<your file name>.<ext> — resize-image-for-walmart/walmart-main/photo1.jpg beside resize-image-for-walmart/walmart-swatch/photo1.jpg. The preset sub-folder is what keeps the two presets of one platform apart: both files carry the same name, so without that level one would replace the other. report.csv sits in the ZIP root, outside both levels. Each preset is read from that platform’s own page on this site when the site is built, so the numbers, official sources and verification dates come from there; the results list shows every output with the platform and preset behind it and its own download link, and report.csv carries one row per photo per preset
  • Scale proportionally and pad to a canvas without cropping where one applies: Walmart’s 2200 × 2200 is the Pixel Dimensions value its official table publishes — our research reads it as a target, not a stated minimum or maximum — and the eBay 1,600 × 1,600 and Shopify 2048 × 2048 canvases come from values those pages only recommend (about, usually displays best). All three are presets of ours built on figures the platforms do not label mandatory; of the figures those canvases rest on, only Walmart’s 1:1 aspect ratio and its 255/255/255 background are hard items on that table — Walmart’s 5MB file size, 8 bits per pixel, RGB colour format and format list are hard as well, and are handled in the rows above. eBay’s picture policy lists photos with added borders under Not allowed, so read the Added borders row before you use the eBay square preset. Where the platform sets no aspect ratio (Amazon general, Etsy) the fit presets keep your photo’s own shape. Every canvas named here is the one carried by the preset on that platform’s own page on this site
  • Re-encode every output as an 8-bit RGB JPEG — the first name on the Amazon, Walmart, eBay and Etsy format lists quoted in the table above — so 16-bit and palette PNG sources come out at 8 bits per channel, and EXIF and any embedded colour profile are dropped. The file’s own EXIF orientation is applied to the pixels first, where your browser reports it, so a photo that relied on its orientation tag keeps the right way up — Etsy’s page rotates uploads by EXIF, and there is no tag left in the output for it to read. Shopify’s own upload format list is not quoted on this page, because the sentence carrying it was not captured word for word on the official page. Because the profile does not travel with the file, convert a non-sRGB photo to sRGB in your editor first: Etsy’s page tells sellers to convert to sRGB before uploading if colours display oddly — a recommendation rather than a rule — and Amazon’s pages say not to rely on ICC colour profiles. Shopee, which is in the table but has no preset here, publishes no format list at all
  • Lower JPEG quality step by step until each file is inside the byte limit its platform publishes — Walmart’s 5MB or less, eBay’s 12MB each, Shopify’s smaller than 20 MB — and flag any file that cannot get there instead of shipping it silently. None of those pages publishes a byte count or says whether it means decimal or binary megabytes. The cap applied here is this site’s stricter decimal reading of each published wording — our own figure, not a platform figure — so a file inside it is inside the published limit under either reading; each platform’s own page on this site states the same figure. Amazon’s and Etsy’s pages publish no byte limit at all, so those two folders are not capped
  • For Etsy, show every output’s byte count rather than presenting a file above the figure as within a limit Etsy never set: the official page says images larger than 1MB “may not finish uploading”, which is a warning, not a maximum, so no byte cap is applied to that folder
  • Leave a small photo at its own pixel size everywhere — no preset on this page enlarges. On the square canvases (Walmart, eBay square, Shopify square) a photo smaller than the canvas is centred at its own pixel size and the rest is padded, which is what Amazon’s Do not artificially enlarge small images and Walmart’s line about not scaling small images up to fill space both ask for; the output pixel size is printed on every row and in report.csv
  • Write 72 dpi into the header of the Amazon folder’s files, because Amazon’s page states At least 72 dpi; presets for platforms whose pages state no density write none
  • Put a report.csv in the ZIP root with one row per photo per preset, in twelve columns: file, platform, preset, width, height, output_bytes, format, enlarged, over_budget, under_budget, error, verdict. On every row that processed, enlarged reads no, because no preset on this page makes a photo bigger, and under_budget reads no, because no preset sets a byte minimum; those two columns are blank only on a row whose file could not be processed at all. verdict is pass when the engine raised no flag for that output, fail when it raised one, and error when the file could not be processed. A pass means only that — no flag from this page — and it is not acceptance by a marketplace. Two of the five platforms carry a pixel minimum here: the Amazon and eBay presets carry the 500 px figure from their own official pages, so a source below it on the longest side is flagged and reads fail. Etsy’s and Walmart’s pixel figures set no flag, so the width and height columns are where you compare those against the spec table

What it does not do

  • Change the pixels of the product itself: no cropping into the product, no colour or content edits
  • Turn a non-white background white — padding is added in the value the platform publishes where there is one (Walmart’s 255/255/255) and in this site’s own white where the platform publishes none (the eBay square and Shopify square presets); the background already in your photo is left as it is (see flatten-background-to-white for near-white backgrounds)
  • Turn every pixel figure in the table into a pass or fail column. Two of them are flagged: the Amazon and eBay presets carry the 500 px minimum from their own official pages, so a source whose longest side is below 500 px is flagged in its result row and reads fail in report.csv. The rest are not — Etsy’s 635 px first-photo figure and its 2000 px recommendation, and Walmart’s 1500 × 1500 zoom figure, are scoped in ways a single flag cannot express, so those presets set no minimum and nothing is flagged for them, and the output width and height are printed on every row and in report.csv for you to compare. A fail in that column is a flag raised by this page, not a rejection by a marketplace
  • Check content rules — watermarks, added text, logos, borders, models, packaging, language — those differ per platform and you review them yourself against the linked official pages
  • Export for Shopee or TikTok Shop. The verified Shopee (Singapore) and TikTok Shop rows are in the table for comparison, but no such preset ships on this page today: Shopee’s official pages publish no pixel size at all, so a Shopee folder would have to be built on a canvas size Shopee never published. We would rather show you the verified rules than write that folder
  • Cover platforms whose official image specs we could not verify on a public page: Temu, Lazada, Mercado Libre and Rakuten are not included, with or without a disclaimer
  • Predict whether a marketplace will accept a listing; report.csv records each output’s size, format and flags against the published numbers, nothing more
  • Upload your files anywhere
  • Preserve metadata of any kind: every output is re-encoded, so EXIF, ICC and XMP are dropped. If your photo carries Amazon’s contains-synthetic-performer disclosure keyword, write it back after exporting — the Amazon disclosure-tag page on this site does that without re-encoding the image
  • Rename your files: your own file name is carried through unchanged. Amazon’s page states that spaces, dashes or additional characters in an image file name prevent the image from uploading, so rename your sources before exporting if they are going to Amazon
  • We only crop, resize, re-encode and write metadata. We do not alter the content of your photo. Files are processed in your browser and are not uploaded to a server.

Where the official pages disagree

Shopify — maximum pixel count for an uploaded image

Page A: help.shopify.com

Your product and collection images can be any size up to 5000 x 5000 px, or 25 megapixels.

Page B: help.shopify.com

Images uploaded to Shopify can't exceed either of the following limits: 20 megapixels [or] 20 megabytes.

How we handle it: An image at the product media page's stated maximum would be over the theme images page's 20 megapixel limit, so both sentences cannot be the ceiling for the same file. Neither row is labelled required for that reason. We apply the stricter one: every Shopify output from this page is 2048 × 2048 px or smaller, under both figures, and both sentences are shown with their own source rather than merged into one number.

eBay — how the minimum picture size is worded

Page A: www.ebay.com

at least one photo that is 500 pixels on the longest side

Page B: www.ebay.com

Images should have a minimum resolution of 500 x 500 pixels but we recommend images that are about 1600 x 1600

How we handle it: The picture policy sets a listing-level minimum on the longest side; the help page words a per-image minimum on both dimensions. We do not decide which page governs; both are shown. Both eBay presets carry the picture policy’s 500 px longest-side figure, so a source below it is flagged in its result row and reads fail in report.csv — a flag raised by this page against that wording, not a rejection by eBay — while the help page’s per-image reading on both dimensions is not turned into a flag. The output width and height are printed on every row so you can compare against whichever wording applies to you.

Numbers you may have seen elsewhere that are not on the official page

FAQ

Which platforms can I export for?

Amazon (US), Walmart Marketplace (US), eBay, Etsy and Shopify. The ZIP has two folder levels: one folder per platform page, named with that page’s own slug on this site (resize-image-for-walmart), and inside it one sub-folder per preset, named with the preset id (walmart-main, walmart-swatch); your own file name is carried through unchanged, so an output sits at <platform-page-slug>/<preset-id>/<your file name>.<ext>. report.csv sits in the ZIP root. Where a platform’s page carries two presets — Amazon, Walmart, eBay and Shopify all do — the two outputs of one photo land in two different preset sub-folders under the same file name, which is what keeps one from replacing the other; the download link beside each result row gives you that same file name, so downloading both presets of one platform one by one gives you two files called the same thing unless you take them from the ZIP. Each platform’s presets are read from its own page on this site when the site is built, so the numbers, official sources and verification dates come from there, and every output is listed with the platform and the preset behind it in the results and in report.csv. Shopee (Singapore) and TikTok Shop are in the spec table for comparison only; neither has an export preset here.

Why does the Walmart folder contain square files while the Etsy folder keeps my original shape?

Walmart's official table states Aspect Ratio: 1:1 (Square), so the Walmart presets pad to a square canvas. Etsy's help page says to avoid square crops, and advises a horizontal or square first photo that sets the shape of the rest, so the Etsy preset keeps your photo's own aspect ratio and forces nothing.

How large will the files in the Amazon folder be?

Amazon's official page sets no file size limit, so the Amazon folder is not capped by bytes. Files are scaled to the preset's longest side — 1,000 px, the floor of Amazon's 1,000+ px recommendation for zoom, or kept at their original size up to the 10,000 px maximum — and never enlarged; the byte count of each output is shown in the results and in report.csv.

What is in report.csv?

One row per photo per preset, in twelve columns: file, platform, preset, width, height, output_bytes, format, enlarged, over_budget, under_budget, error, verdict. enlarged reads no on every row that processed, because no preset here makes a photo bigger, and under_budget reads no as well, because no preset sets a byte minimum; the two columns are blank only when the file could not be processed at all. verdict is pass when the engine raised no flag for that output, fail when it raised one and error when the file could not be processed; it refers to the flags in the row beside it, not to whether a marketplace will accept the listing. Two pixel figures are flagged here: the Amazon and eBay presets carry the 500 px minimum from their own official pages, so a photo below it on the longest side reads fail in that column — a flag raised by this page, not a rejection by Amazon or eBay. Etsy’s 635 px and 2000 px figures and Walmart’s 1500 × 1500 zoom figure are scoped in ways a single flag cannot express, so those presets raise no flag and the output width and height are given on every row for you to compare instead.

Why is there no Shopee folder?

Because Shopee publishes no pixel size to build one on. The Singapore Seller Education Hub articles (2449, dated 2024-04-15; 17318, dated 2023-01-11) and the undated Shopee Mall Listing Guidelines PDF make the 1:1 ratio mandatory and the 3:4 ratio optional, but state no pixel dimensions, no file size limit and no format list, and other Shopee country sites were not checked. A preset would have to supply all three from somewhere other than Shopee, so the verified Shopee rows are shown in the table instead and no Shopee folder is written.

Why is there no TikTok Shop folder?

TikTok Shop's Product Listing Policy states square images of at least 600 × 600 px with a pure white main-image background, in colour, but publishes no maximum pixel size, image file size or format list, and there is no TikTok preset in this toolset yet. The verified TikTok rows are listed in the table for reference.

Etsy says images over 1 MB may not finish uploading. Is that a hard limit?

The official wording is that images larger than 1MB “may not finish uploading, especially on a slower internet connection”. It is not stated as a rejection rule, so no byte cap is applied to the Etsy folder — inventing one would turn that warning into a rule Etsy never wrote. Each Etsy output's byte count is shown so you can see which files sit above the figure.

Amazon clothing wants close to 3:4 and Walmart wants 1:1. Which does the Amazon folder use?

The Amazon folder follows the general Product image requirements, which set no aspect ratio, so your photo keeps its shape. Amazon's Image guidelines for clothing state a minimum aspect ratio close to 3:4 (width/height) with 85% of the total image area occupied; that clothing line is in the table but is not a separate export preset here.

Which output format does each folder use?

Every folder here is written as JPEG. JPEG is the first name on the Amazon, Walmart, eBay and Etsy format lists quoted in the table above, and it is also the format Amazon’s page recommends. Shopify is the exception: we captured no format list from its pages word for word, so no Shopify format row appears in the table and the formats the Shopify page on this site offers are our own choice, not a quoted Shopify list. If you need a different format, use that platform’s own page on this site: four of the five let you pick the output format — PNG on the Amazon and Etsy pages, and PNG or WebP on the eBay and Shopify pages; eBay’s list is quoted from its official page, while the Shopify page’s PNG and WebP are this site’s own choice. The Walmart page outputs JPEG only, because JPEG is the first name on Walmart’s format list and Walmart's 5MB or less is the tightest byte limit of the five export platforms on this page.

Will the export tell me whether my listing will be accepted?

No. It records each output’s pixel size, byte count, format and flags against the published numbers, and links the official page for each. Content rules are not evaluated by this page. For the two Amazon checks that can be measured on a photo, use amazon-white-background-checker and product-image-fill-ratio-checker on your source before exporting.

What happens if a file cannot reach a platform's size limit?

The row is flagged as over the limit in the results and in report.csv, and the file is still included so you can see it; nothing over a limit is presented as within it. Walmart’s 5MB or less is the tightest cap on this page, so a 2200 × 2200 photograph is where it is most likely to happen.

How many photos can I export at a time?

Up to 20 images per run — this page’s own limit on how many files it works through in one go, not a marketplace rule — and the per-file size limit shown above the drop zone before you choose files is this page’s own as well. The platforms’ own listing counts differ — eBay’s page says "You can add up to 24 pictures", which our research records as up to 24 pictures added free of charge, Shopee’s Singapore Seller Education Hub (article 2449, dated 2024-04-15) says up to nine images per SKU including the cover image, and TikTok Shop US’s Product Listing Policy (page dated 2026-09-01) says sellers may upload up to 9 square images — and each of those pages is linked under Sources. This page does not track how many photos a listing already has. Each photo is processed once for each export preset you choose, entirely in your browser.

Sources